Tom Dennison

Faculty Director

Tom Dennison is a professor of practice in the department of public administration at the Maxwell School, director of the health services management and policy certificate program, and a senior research associate with the Center for Policy Research at Maxwell. He is also Chair of the Onondaga County Health Department Advisory Board. Tom earned his Bachelor's degree in management from Syracuse University, a Master's degree in hospital administration from George Washington University and a Doctorate in health planning and administration from Penn State University. email:

Cynthia Morrow

Faculty Scholar

Cynthia Morrow is Professor of Practice in the Public Administration and International Affairs department, as well as a Faculty Scholar with the Lerner Center for Public Health Promotion. Through Upstate, Dr. Morrow is an Assistant Professor in the Center for Bioethics and Humanities, an Assistant Professor in the Department of Public Health and Preventive Medicine, and an Assistant Professor of Pediatrics. Cynthia received her medical degree, as well as her Masters in Public Health, from Tufts University School of Medicine in Boston, Massachusetts. Prior to joining the Maxwell School, Dr. Morrow was also the former Commissioner of Health for the Onondaga County Health Department. She is currently an Editorial Board Member and peer reviewer for The Journal of Public Health Management and Practice. She is also a peer reviewer for the American Journal of Preventive Medicine.

Rebecca Bostwick

Program Director

Rebecca Bostwick oversees the Center’s administrative and program operations, staff, and community partnerships. She has been at the University since 2005, previously serving as deputy director for SU's Center for Health and Behavior. She has also worked for SUNY Upstate Medical University as the project director for the Commission for a Healthy Central New York, and for the Central New York Health Systems Agency. She is an active volunteer with the United Way of Central New York as a member of the Board of Directors and Chair of the Community Impact Committee. She also serves on the Women's Leadership Initiative Steering Committee, an initiative of the Office of Student Activities at SU. She earned her Master's degree in public administration and a certificate in health services management and policy, both from the Maxwell School.

Leah Moser

Program Coordinator

Leah Moser manages the Healthy Monday Syracuse campaign on the Syracuse University campus and in the community. She has been with the Lerner Center since 2011 as a Lerner Fellow. She earned a Bachelor’s degree in community, public and worksite health from Truman State University, and a Master’s degree in public health through the Central New York Master of Public Health program- a joint venture between Syracuse University and SUNY Upstate Medical University. She earned a certificate in health services management and policy from the Maxwell School at Syracuse University and is a Certified Health Education Specialist. Leah is also a certified facilitator for the Diabetes Prevention Program with the Downtown Syracuse YMCA.

Roberto Martinez

Healthy Neighborhood Project Coordinator

Roberto joins the Lerner Center full time as the Healthy Neighborhood Initiative Project Coordinator. Roberto is a second-year student in the CNY MPH Program. He received his medical degree from the UNAN Medical School in Managua, Nicaragua. He most recently worked as the medical program coordinator for the AMOS Health and Hope agency in Managua, Nicaragua, leading a primary care and community health team to design, coordinate, and evaluate public health interventions in the rural areas of Nicaragua. 
He currently serves as an advocator for AMOS Health and Hope agency in the United States. Roberto also served as project coordinator for the neonatal syndrome abstinence project work taking place in Syracuse, funded by the NYS Health Foundation. Roberto can be reached at

Former Lerner Fellows

Bridget Lenkiewicz

Timothy Smilnak

Maidel De La Cruz

Ian Grant

Matthew MacDougall

Leah Moser

Gabby Mirsaidi

Mary Doohovskoy

Brianna Cameron

Katherine Oja

Sadie Conrad